Honey Whole Wheat Bread

From Beth Hensperger’s The Bread Lover’s Bread Machine Cookbook. This is my favorite wheat bread recipe so far. Now that I’ve recorded it, I can return the book to the library. Whew.

1/3 C water
1/2 C milk
1/4 C honey
1 large egg
1 Tb butter, cut into pieces

2 C bread flour
1 C whole wheat flour
1 Tb plus 1 t gluten
2 t salt

2.25 t SAF yeast or 2.75 t bread machine yeast

1) Place all ingredients in the pan according to the order in the manufacturer’s instructions. Set crust on medium and program for the Basic cycle; press Start. (This recipe is not suitable for use with the Delay Timer.)
2) When the baking cycle ends, immediately remove the bread from the pan and place it on a rack. Let cool to room temperature before slicing.

**I reverse the ratio of white flour to whole wheat flour and set my machine to Whole Wheat versus the Basic Cycle. This bread is delicious.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Laura says:

    I was curious if you use store bought flour or if you mill your own?

  2. RT says:

    I, ahem, mill my own. But you won’t find me talking about it very often as I used to think folks who milled their own wheat were NUTS. ; )

  3. Laura says:

    I mill my own also. What’s your favorite kind of grain to use?

  4. RT says:

    I have no idea what kind of grain I’m using now (though I could find out from a friend). I’m a beginner to the world of grains and milling. What type of wheat do you like best? Have you milled rice and corn as well? I’d like to experiment a little, but I also have a 5-gallon bucket half full of wheat. Clearly I’ll be using this grain for quite some time!

  5. Laura says:

    I’ve only been milling my grain for a little less than a year. I’m still at the experimental stage with the grains also. I’ve tried hard red, hard white, soft white, kamut, spelt, a little of both amaranth and quinoa, and I also have a seven grain that I haven’t had much success with yet. At the present my favorite for our daily bread is hard white and for cookies I’ve been using hard red and sometimes soft white. I do mill corn for cornbread, but that’s all I usually use cornmeal for at this time. I tried some brown rice before because we had been buying brown rice farina at the store and really liked it so decided to see if we could start making out own. Even on the coarse setting it turned out too fine. I haven’t tried rice bread yet. How big is your family? We have a family of six and a 5 gallon bucket lasts us about 3-4 months. That’s using it for all of our flour needs. Of course that’s normal use and our children are only 7 and under. For holidays it gets used up a little quicker and by the time the children hit their teens I’m sure we’ll have to buy it more often.

  6. RT says:

    There are only 3 of us–and I got out of the rhythm of baking a few weeks ago–so I’m sure that bucket will last a long time!

Leave a comment