Better-Than-the-Average Banana Bread

Truth be told, I don’t like banana bread. It’s a sad reality of my family that I can make a loaf and no one will eat it. However, I made some bread yesterday for church and oh my, the smell in my house was amazing. This, my friends, is a banana bread worth making, smelling AND eating. Can’t beat that. The following recipe is altered from Janet’s Rich Banana Bread.

1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup sour cream
2 medium bananas, mashed

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan.

In a large bowl, stir together the melted butter and sugar. Add the eggs and vanilla, mix well. Combine the flour, baking soda and salt, stir into the butter mixture until smooth. Finally, fold in the sour cream, walnuts and bananas. Spread evenly into the prepared pan.

Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean. Cool loaf in the pan for 10 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

**I made the entire recipe in my Kitchen Aid mixer and it turned out just fine. When using a stand mixer, make sure not to be beat the ingredients too hard. Use the 1st level/basic stir setting more often to gently incorporate the ingredients without beating the life out of them. Also, I rarely ever dirty two bowls with wet and dry ingredients. I add dry to the wet as I go and it usually works out well in the end.

One Comment Add yours

  1. RT says:

    The smell, oh, the smell of this bread. It’s killer.

Leave a comment