Holiday Green Beans

It’s official: Needs More Butter has become my virtual three-ring binder. My original binder is practically obsolete and it’s high time I transfer a few tried-and-true recipes. Here is my favorite special green bean recipe. It’s a wonderful replacement for green bean casserole during the holidays.

2lb fresh green beans
2 T butter
1 C chopped walnuts
2 T walnut oil
2 T minced parsley
s&p to taste

Cook beans in boiling water until tender (approximately 5 minutes). Then rinse in cold water and drain.

Melt butter and oil in a skillet over high heat. Add beans and heat for 4 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Add walnuts and parsley, toss together, then serve.

**I never use walnut oil and the recipe still turns out nicely because it’s so simple and unfussy. This dish travels well. You can cook the green beans at home, then complete the final steps once you’ve arrived for the big family dinner.

Leave a comment