Curried Chicken & Cauliflower Soup

on

My one New Year’s resolution is to feed my family healthier meals. I bought a magazine called Clean Eating and fixed this soup after Jeremy showed interest in it. If you want nutrition info, leave a comment and I’ll add it. I’ll leave my recipe changes underneath the original recipe.

2 T light coconut milk
12oz boneless, skinless chicken breast, chopped
4 t curry powder
4 C chopped cauliflower
1 small red bell pepper, chopped (1 cup)
4 C low-sodium chicken broth
fresh ground black pepper, to taste
2 large scallions, chopped
1/2 C chopped fresh cilantro
1.5 C nonfat plain Greek-style yogurt

In a 4qt pot, heat coconut milk over medium heat, swirling to coat pot and being careful to not let milk boil. Add chicken, covering the bottom of the pot, and season with curry powder. When edges of chicken turn white, about 3 minutes, flip pieces. Cook for 1 to 3 minutes, until chicken is lightly golden. Add cauliflower bell pepper, potato and broth, and increase heat to medium-high to bring mixture to boil. Cover pot, reduce heat to medium-low and let simmer for 10 minutes.

When cauliflower and potatoes are tender, simmer uncovered for 1 more minute to thicken slightly. Season with black pepper. Spoon soup into bowls and top with scallions and cilantro, dividing both evenly. Finish each with a 1/4 cup dollop of yogurt.

**I omitted the red pepper per my fam’s eating preferences, and used extra coconut milk and curry powder. I added another potato and about an extra cup of water. In my opinion, scallions are unnecessary, but cilantro and yogurt are a must. Also, we added salt and pepper to our individual bowls. Next time I make it, I plan to beef it up with carrots, more potatoes and perhaps a bit of cream. (What? Cream isn’t all that healthy? Geez.)

One Comment Add yours

  1. Bethany says:

    Yay, this looks delicious!

Leave a comment