Bourbon Cranberry Sauce

Jason’s office has a Thanksgiving dinner each year, and for whatever reason I got kind of obsessed with sending something made with bourbon. My first thought was some sort of bourbon sweet potatoes, but this recipe was a lot easier to pull off (and also it’s easier to keep things cold until lunchtime than it is to keep them warm). In any case, the results were really yummy. (Via The Kitchen Sink)

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 pounds cranberries (2 bags)
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup  + 2 tablespoons bourbon

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Combine all ingredients in a buttered 9×13-inch baking dish.
  3. Cover tightly with foil and bake until cranberries are tender and sugar is dissolved, stirring once, about 1 hour.
  4. Remove from the oven, carefully remove the foil and allow the cranberry sauce to cool completely.
  5. Refrigerate cranberry sauce until well chilled. (Can be prepared 1 week ahead.)
  6. Transfer to bowl and serve.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. RT says:

    Uh, about borrowing some bourbon? I’m going to fix this today! If I half it, will I still have enough to feed four adults? (We don’t need a ton.)

  2. Renae says:

    As much bourbon as you like. And, yes, half should be plenty. It makes about 4 1/2 cups as it is. (FWIW, half of “1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons” (of bourbon) is 3 tablespoons.)

    And in totally bizarre news, I had my fingers in the wrong place the first time I typed “tablespoons” in this comment and somehow came up with “1/4 cup plus 2 babies.” No kidding. And yikes!!

  3. Clare says:

    Our cranberry sauce has dark rum in it, and my husband gets such a kick out of serving something to my grandparents that has alcohol in it!

Leave a comment