Sweet Potato and Chickpea Salad

I’ve never actually believed in the whole “don’t spoil your dinner” nonsense, but when I made a batch of this earlier this afternoon, I snitched so much that I nearly did spoil my dinner (which would have been a shame since my dinner was this salmon). I don’t think that I’m exaggerating when I say I could eat this every day all sumer long. (The recipe is from a Weight Watchers cookbook via my friend Beth.) 

  • 2 pounds sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 2 tablespoons seasoned rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon minced, peeled fresh ginger
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 (15-ounce) can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 4 cups baby arugula (I just use whatever greens I have)
  • 1/4 cup crumbled goat cheese (or feta)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Spray a large, rimmed baking sheet with nonstick spray. Spread the sweet potatoes on the prepared baking sheet. Bake until fork-tender, 25 minutes, stirring once or twice during cooking.
  2. Meanwhile, to make the dressing, combine vinegar, oil, ginger, garlic, salt, and pepper in a large bowl. Whisk until blended.
  3. Add sweet potatoes, chickpeas, and cilantro to dressing; toss to coat. (Transfer 2 cups of the sweet potato mixture to a container and let cool; cover and refrigerate up to 3 ays for later use in Sweet Potato Falafel Sandwiches.)
  4. Place the greens on a plate and top with the sweet potato mixture and sprinkle with the cheese. (Serving: 1 cup sweet potato mixture, 1 cup arugula, and 1 tablespoon cheese.)

4 Comments Add yours

  1. RT says:

    Oh my goodness. Yum!

  2. RT says:

    I should point out that last night I told someone that I hadn’t tried this salad because I have a history of discord between me and the chickpea. And then, when I scooped the dregs from your bowl, I realized how fabulous this salad is. Rebecca and the chickpea, together at last. Well done, friend!

  3. Renae says:

    Ah, so glad to reunite you with the chickpea; I had no idea there was unrest. :)
    I know what you mean, though: I and the sundried tomato are estranged.

  4. I make this salad many times during the year..I just love it…. so good!

Leave a comment