Pumpkin Spice Latte

It’s the most wonderful time of the year: time for everything to be coming up pumpkin. I saw this recipe on a friend’s Facebook thread about pumpkin spice lattes and decided to try it today, with a few alterations. I am so glad I did. Honestly, my first thought was that it might be a little bland, but it grew and grew and grew on me to the point that I can’t wait for it to be tomorrow so I can justify having another one.

Serves 2 (and I think it’s probably best fresh rather than warmed up, so either be prepared to drink a lot (eh) or make half)

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups milk (I use whole ’cause that’s what we have around here)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla (more wouldn’t hurt)
  • 1/4 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • dash garam masala (you could skip this, but, really, I wouldn’t)
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup (or to taste)
  • 2 cups strong coffee (a scoop or two stronger than you would otherwise drink it), hot

Directions:

  1. Combine milk, vanilla, pumpkin, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, garam masala, and maple syrup (so, everything but the coffee) in a microwave-safe measuring cup (or bowl) and heat in the microwave for 3 minutes, or until very hot (you could also head the mixture on the stove)
  2. Pour the milk mixture into a blender and blend until it is frothy (about 2 minutes?)
  3. Pour frothy pumpkin milk into a large mug (fill it about halfway), and add hot coffee to fill the mug the rest of the way. You can play with the proportions to suit your taste.
One Response

  1. Tried this several times and agree it seems bland and thick. Then I tried this http://m.huffpost.com/us/entry/4065744
    Amazing. It uses 1/2tsp pumpkin pie spice, 2 tsp honey, and frothy milk. I made my own pie spice with 1tsp allspice, 1tsp nutmege, 1tsp ginger, 1tsp cinnamon and 1/2tsp cloves. I did the milk in the microwave.

Leave a Reply

