101 Salads: The One with Bean Sprouts

Bean sproutsA while ago (maybe two summers ago?) I came across an article titled “101 Simple Salads for the Season.” I’ve tried a few here and there, but I haven’t had a system to remember which ones I’ve liked. I am going to again start making my way through. My goal, of course, is to eventually try all 101, but I am not putting any time limits on it. I’ll keep track of my thoughts here. 

So this salad is no. 6: Sichuan Slaw. I could also call it “I had to stop myself from eating a half pound of bean sprouts in one sitting.” But at the same time, a little goes a long way. This was a good one.

The recipes are minimalist in that they just give general suggestions: amounts are up to us, I guess. This time I started with about 2 cups of bean sprouts, and it made about three servings (or a really small side dish for a potluck). I did not have celery or a chili, but I imagine those would only make it better. I did have basil, mint, and cilantro, and the trio combination was delish.

Toss bean sprouts, shredded carrots and celery, minced fresh chili, soy sauce, sesame oil and a bit of sugar. Top with chopped peanuts and chopped basil, mint and/or cilantro. (The full trio is best.)

One Response

  1. These are recipes for Ps on the Myers-Briggs scale! I protest! (No measurements? What???!) ;)

Leave a Reply

