Spinach & Spaghetti

(Originally published February 2008) Marlene Lehl (from Zion Church) brought me this as a mercy meal (I think it was when Liv came home) and it was delicious. I passed it on as a mercy meal last night and wanted to share this meatless main dish with the rest of you.

Ingredients:

  • 4 ounces spaghetti
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 4 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese, divided
  • 2 teaspoons minced dried onion
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • dash pepper
  • 2 cups (8 ounces) shredded monterey jack cheese
  • 1 10-ounce package frozen chopped spinach, thawed
  1. Cook spaghetti according to package directions, drain well.
  2. Combine egg, sour cream, milk, 2 tablespoons parmesan cheese, onion, salt and pepper; add monterey jack cheese and mix well.
  3. Add spaghetti and spinach and mix well.
  4. Turn into a 8 x 8-inch square pan. Sprinkle with remaining parmesan. Bake covered at 350 for 15 minutes. Uncover and bake for 15-20 minutes more or until warmed through.
5 Responses

  1. Yes, Marlene brought us this exact same dish, too!! I really liked it, though not sure if I could make it now, as the men in my household have some problems with dairy. Regardless, how funny is that, both of us receiving the same dish?? Guess one has to stick with what works!

  2. There is a dish almost exactly like this in the Zion cookbook except it includes fresh mushrooms. I think I’ll combine the two-fresh mushrooms and fresh Parmesan. Mmmm.

  3. Sarah, for a long time I took my modification of the Zion cookbook’s Lazy Day Lasagna for every single mercy meal. Now I’ve switched things up a bit… lol.

    Karen, mmmm, I like the idea of mushrooms. But I’d be the only Tredway eating it then. Ah well!

  4. Is the first part supposed to say “Cook spaghetti according to directions” or “spinach”?

  5. Also, it says “bake uncovered at 350 degrees” then it says “uncover and bake…” I assume the first one is supposed to say “bake covered”?

    (Can you tell I’m making this for dinner? :) )

Leave a Reply

