Chocolate Pudding

I have added a new category Worth Making from Scratch. Of course, others may have different opinions of what is “worth it” in terms of convenience and cost vs. time/energy, but generally speaking I am finding more and more things that taste better, are more healthful, are simple enough to prepare, and are often cheaper when made from scratch. 

Jason wanted some pudding cups for lunch. It has always kind of bothered me that you can find those in the non-refrigerated  aisle — what do they do to the milk that’s supposedly in there? This pudding, adapted a bit from More with Less, one of my very favorite cookbooks, is cheap, delicious, and, for me, a perfect example of something worth the (minimal) effort.

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup (or less) honey or sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch or arrowroot
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 2 cups milk  (0r almond, soy, or coconut milk)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon butter or ghee (do not use if using coconut milk)

Directions:

  1. Combine honey, cornstarch, cocoa powder, and milk in a medium saucepan over medium-low heat until thickened, stirring (almost) constantly.
  2. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla and butter until combined.
  3. Serve warm or cold.
7 Responses

  1. I won’t promise, but I’m pretty sure this will be my last jelly jar recipe for a while.

  2. Has anyone else noticed that the blog title is about adding more butter, but the recipes seem to be getting healthier? I’m soon to start a 21day cleanse, or I’d say we should do a tribute week to recipes oozing with butter, and we’d have to eat at least one.

    • Oooh. I love your idea. I’m on Day 8 of Whole 30, but let’s do that end of June/beginning of July!

      What’s your cleanse?

      • It’s something from my chiropractor. I don’t know all the details, yet, but have been putting it off until after we got moved. I was partially kidding about actually eating oozing butter, since it will probably make me not feel great intestinally after a fast. Is intestinally a word?

  3. Renae has gotten healthier. My last recipe was for buttercream.

  4. A quote for Rebecca: “As a mere vegetable or sauce, as the country people call it, [the potato] does very well to qualify the effect of fat meat, or to assist in the swallowing of quantities of butter.” William Cobbett in The English Gardener, 1838

Leave a Reply

