Fresh Mint Tabbouleh

Image 

When I visited Kate in Minneapolis, she took me to the Birchwood Cafe, where I had their Mint Tabbouleh. I couldn’t get it out of my head, so I emailed the cafe and they graciously gave me the ingredient list. I’ve been eating this for lunch for over a month. Here’s how I’ve been creating it.

1 cucumber, peeled, finely chopped

1 red pepper finely chopped

1 bunch  parsley (flat leaf or Italian) finely chopped. About 1/2 cup ish

1/4 cup fresh mint, finely chopped

juice of one fresh lemon

2 tsp olive oil, or your other favorite oil (I’ve been using sesame seed oil)

salt and pepper

Almonds, at least 1/2 cup, however you like them, chopped big.

1 cup uncooked quinoa (then cook it as directed). You can use bulgar as well, but I couldn’t find it easily, and I’m lazy when it comes to shopping.

Optional: add chickpeas if you want even more protein.

Mix all of the ingredients together in a bowl, except the quinoa. Once the quinoa has cooled a bit, then mix it in.

Stick it in the fridge so it gets cold. Eat it.

Nutrition Facts (this isn’t exact, but it’s close)

Serving Size 149 g (based on 5 servings per recipe)
Amount Per Serving
Calories 212
Calories from Fat 78
Total Fat 8.7g
Saturated Fat 0.9g
Trans Fat 0.0g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 6mg
Total Carbohydrates 28.2g
Dietary Fiber 5.0g
Sugars 2.8g
Protein 7.5g
Vitamin A 20% Vitamin C 69%
Calcium 6% Iron 15%
Nutrition Grade A
* Based on a 2000 calorie diet
One Response

  1. Can’t wait to try this!

Leave a Reply

