Strawberry Lemon Bars

I had seen a version of these bars on Pinterest. I love lemon bars and was intrigued by the twist of adding strawberries. When my mom and I were trying to come up with a menu for Easter dinner, I immediately thought of the beautiful pink color and knew I had to try them. (I used super-fresh farm eggs from some friends’ chickens — the brightest yolks I’ve ever seen — and this batch turned out more orange/grapefruit pink than the bright pink in the picture I originally saw. It was still a nice, springy color; I only mention it because I chose the recipe[s] in the first place based on color.) Since I was also making lemon bars and lime bars (which ended up being Lime Kiwi Bars), I did a little searching and comparing of lemon bar recipes before I started. The final product ended up being a combination of this recipe and this one.

Ingredients:

Crust:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 stick cold butter
Filling:
  • 1 cup fresh lemon juice (fresh really does seem to be important; don’t use the bottled stuff)
  • 2-3 teaspoons lemon zest
  • 1/2 cup strawberry puree (made from about 3/4 cup fresh strawberries)
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • (powdered sugar for dusting finished bars)
Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Lightly grease a 9×13-inch baking pan.
  2. To make the crust, combine the flour, powdered sugar, and sea salt in a large bowl. Cut in the cold butter and work with your fingers until the mixture resembles cornmeal. Press into a greased 9×13-inch pan and bake for about 17 minutes, or until set at the edges.
  3. While the crust bakes, prepare the filling.
  4. In a blender or the bowl of a food processor, combine lemon juice, lemon zest, strawberry puree, sugar, and eggs and process until smooth. Add in flour, baking powder, and salt, then pulse until smooth.
  5. Gently pour the filling over the hot crust when it has finished baking. Return pan to oven and bake for 23-26 minutes, until the filling is set (There will be a light colored “crust” on top from the sugar in the custard – nothing to worry about).
  6. Cool completely before slicing and use a damp knife to ensure clean slices. Dust with powdered sugar.
  7. Store in refrigerator until ready to eat.
2 Responses

  1. It’s shocking how much brighter the yolks are from chickens that are truly free-range. Out of curiosity, did you find the shells harder to crack than store-bought conventional eggs? When I buy the free-range eggs here, the shells seem significantly harder.

  2. I didn’t notice, so probably not *significantly* harder.

Leave a Reply

