Maple-Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Parsnips

I am looking for ways to get more vegetables into our diet. I knew I would like this recipe (it had me at “maple-roasted”; it also had me at “sweet potatoes” and “parsnips”). It was a surprise hit with the boys, though.

I didn’t have leeks or parsley, I forgot the garlic, and I used brown mustard instead of Dijon (I’d do that again, actually). I also just mixed the sweet potatoes and parsnips together — it sure does look pretty to layer them, but c’mon . . . not going to happen in my house. Since I didn’t have leeks and forgot the garlic, I also skipped the skillet step and just mixed the syrup and mustard and poured it over the vegetables. It all worked out just fine in the end.

Ingredients:

  • 3 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 3-4 parsnips, peeled and thinly sliced (I used more)
  •  4 tablespoons olive oil
  •  1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 leek, finely diced
  •  2 cloves garlic, minced
  •  1/3 cup maple syrup
  •  2 tablespoons Dijon mustard (I used brown mustard)
  •  2 tablespoons fresh parsley

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400º F.
  2. Place sliced sweet potatoes and parsnips in a medium bowl. Add 2 tablespoons of olive oil, salt and pepper and toss to evenly coat.
  3. Arrange the slices alternating between sweet potatoes and parsnips in the bottom of a small baking dish. 
  4. In a medium skillet, heat remaining olive oil over medium heat. Saute leeks and garlic for 5 minutes. Pour in maple syrup and stir in the mustard. Continue cooking for 2 additional minutes until syrup starts to simmer. Pour syrup and leeks over the sweet potatoes and parsnips evenly.
  5. Place in the oven for 30-40 minutes until cooked through. Remove from oven and allow to stand 5 minutes.
  6. Garnish with parsley and serve warm.
Leave a Reply

