Baked Oatmeal

I love oatmeal. But I forget that I love it. This recipe made me remember. 

I made a couple of modifications to the original recipe based on what I had on hand. (The recipe below is how I made it this time, except I made a half batch.) Mine was less sweet than the original would have been, but of course that’s easily remedied. Add apples or cranberries or nuts — this one seems pretty adaptable.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter
  • 3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats (do not substitute quick or instant or steel cut oats)
  • 1/2-3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup milk (I used skim)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons dark molasses
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. While the oven is preheating, unwrap the butter and place it in an 8-inch x 8-inch or 9-inch x 9-inch baking pan. Place the pan on the center rack of the oven and let the butter melt as the oven heats. (As soon as the butter is melted remove the pan from the oven or the butter may scorch. I finished melting the butter in the microwave, since it wasn’t quite done when I was ready with the other ingredients.)
  2. Whisk together the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Whisk together the milk, eggs, and vanilla extract in a separate bowl, pour over the dry ingredients and mix together with a sturdy spoon until everything is evenly combined and wet. Scrape into the pan with the melted butter and stir until most of the butter is incorporated, but there are little pockets of melted butter still visible at the corners. (I didn’t mix dry and wet ingredients separately; it turned out fine.)
  3. Bake for 30 minutes or until golden brown around the edges. Serve hot with a splash of milk or a good glug of heavy cream.
One Response

  1. mmmm!! a glug of heavy cream! what exactly is a glug?? any thing to do with cream is ok with me!!

Leave a Reply

