Cake Batter Rice Crispy Treats

A Pinterest find, this rice crispy treat recipe piqued my interest. In the last year I’ve become somewhat addicted to “cake” desserts. Birthday cake pops from Starbucks, birthday cake ice cream cones from the grocery store, you name it, I like it. All my life I’ve been a giant fan of chocolate, but these days I’m all about the yellow cake mix. These treats did not disappoint!

Ingredients:

3 Tbsp. butter
1 (10 oz.) bag of mini-marshmallows
1/4 cup yellow cake mix (the dry cake mix, not prepared into a batter)
6 cups crispy rice cereal
1 (1.75 oz.) container of sprinkles

Method:

Melt butter in a large saucepan over low heat and add marshmallows. Stir until they begin to melt, adding in (dry) cake mix one spoonful at a time so its combined. Stir in cereal so it is completely coated with marshmallow mixture. Sprinkle in half of the sprinkles and mix. Press into a baking dish (any size will do) and top with remaining sprinkles. Let sit for about 30 minutes before cutting. I find spraying a knife with nonstick spray helps to cut them.

**I upped the cake mix to 1/2 a cup and it tasted great. Also, don’t skimp on the sprinkles.

2 Responses

  1. I have been addicted to the other aspect of this — the cereal and marshmallow part. Sounds delightful.

  2. Oh my….I think I just added this to my weekend to do list :-)

Leave a Reply

