Avocado-Basil Salad Dressing

Generally speaking, I think lettuce salads are just okay. I’ll eat them because I know I should, but I don’t generally seek them out. This, however, is the kind of salad dressing that makes me want to make a salad (or have a second helping) just to taste it again. (Adapted only slightly from Mark Bittman in the New York Times.)

Ingredients:

  • 1 avocado
  • 1/2 cup fresh basil leaves
  • 1 clove garlic
  • juice of one or more limes
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • water (to add for consistency preference)

Directions:

Put all ingredients in a mini food processor or blender and purée until smooth; add water if you like a thinner dressing (I added quite a bit of water — 3 tablespoons maybe?).

Leave a Reply

