Kale-Apple Smoothie

Simon and I have been making smoothies together. I found several combinations to try in the February issue of Real Simple. I like that these are single-serving recipes, not that I couldn’t experiment or cut them down myself, but I do tend to make about three servings when I’m just throwing things together. This particular one wasn’t a favorite for Simon, but I liked it. You do taste the celery, so if that’s a taste problem, you’ve been warned.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup kale, chopped and hard stems removed (about one leaf of curly kale)
  • 1 small stalk celery, chopped
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 cup apple juice
  • 1/2 cup ice
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth and frothy.
Leave a Reply

