Twix Bars

In The Cottage posted a recipe (which I discovered via Kirsty) and it looked yummy. So I made it. And then Renae informed me that Twix bars don’t contain peanut butter, so really these are just Delicous Candy Bar Bars. Enjoy.

1 Box of Club Crackers
1 Cup Graham Crackers, crushed
3/4 Cup Brown Sugar
1/3 Cup White Sugar
1/3 Cup Milk
1/2 Cup Margarine
2/3 Cup Peanut Butter
1 Cup Milk Chocolate Chips

Begin by putting a layer of Club Crackers in the bottom of a 13×9 pan. Then, in a saucepan add the graham crackers, sugars, milk and margarine. Bring to a boil and boil, stirring constantly for almost 5 minutes. …Until it has become caramel-like and pulls away from the sides of the pan. Immediately pour this mixture over the club crackers. Add one more layer of Club Crackers and press down slightly. Place this in the fridge to chill for about 30 minutes. Next place your PB and Chocolate Chips in a small microwaveable bowl and heat for a couple minutes. Stir until melted and then pour over the top of the Crackers and spread it out evenly. Put it back in the fridge to harden and chill… and then cut the goodness into bars.

6 Responses

  1. As you can see, mine don’t look nearly as elegant as the one in the Cottage blog post.

  2. Twix used to make a peanut butter flavor (and a cookies’n’cream one that I was particularly fond of as a kid).

  3. I think they’d taste better without the peanut butter. But that’s because I’m the rare chick who doesn’t like pb & chocolate together. Go figure.

  4. I was going to say, I’ve eaten a PB Twix sometime in the past 10 years, I know I have. Those were my childhood candy of choice.

    These remind me of the matzoh crack, except with peanut butter. Yummm.

Leave a Reply

