Andrew’s Delicious Pot Roast

A few days after outpatient surgery I found myself wandering somewhat aimlessly in a grocery store, trying to figure out what to make for dinner. My little brother came to the rescue and texted me his formula for a yummy crockpot pot roast.

3lb beef roast
3-5 potatoes, cut into wedges
1 onion, thickly sliced
carrots (opt)
24oz cream of mushroom soup
2 bay leaves
1 packet onion soup mix
1 C water

Place potatoes, carrots and onion on the bottom of the crockpot. Place roast on top of them and pour soups and water over the top. Add bay leaves and place lid on top of the pot. Cook on low for 6-8 hours or high for 3-4 hours.

**We ate the meal right out of the pot (sooo perfect for a cold winter night!), but Andrew recommends making a gravy with the sauce: Strain the leftover juice and place in a sauce pan. Make a roux with 1 C cold water and 2 T cornstarch, add to pan and heat.

2 Responses

  1. I’m making this recipe right now, on a hot and humid July day. I imagine we’ll eat the dish for the next several days, thereby saving me from the heat of the oven and stove. Crock pot recipe to the rescue!

  2. Okay, so I’m making some slow cooked roast right now and I’ve been doing some serious reading about how to make a perfect beef roast. I’m choosing to make a rump roast because it had a ton of fat on it which makes everything better and because the sirloin looked a little lean. Anyhow, the common complaint I read about slow cooked beef is the toughness of meat and veggies being too soft. I have no problem with tough meat because I choose fatty meats, I cook it about 10 hours on low, and I use lots of moisture in the pot. Unfortunately this means my veggies are in a soupish state, which brings us to complaint number two. I actually like the soupy stuff and I like my potatoes and carrots and onions to be soft. Also, I add more salt and pepper and garlic than appropriate. I hate dull beef and veggies and this morning I used *gasp* 8 cloves of garlic, four in mixture of veggies and four on my beef. Also, I probably put in about 1/2 teaspoon of salt and a healthy coating of pepper. Nonetheless, I’ll still have to add salt and pepper after I cut into the roast. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

