Peppermint Ice Cream

For Rebecca’s birthday.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 c. water
  • 1 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 c. light cream (I used half and half)
  • 1 T. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 c. crushed peppermint pieces

Directions:

  1. Combine ingredients in ice cream freezer container; proceed according to manufacturer’s instructions. Garnish with additional crushed peppermint candy if desired. (Or, if you’re me, try to freeze it, fail, put the mix in your refrigerator overnight (letting all the peppermint chunks dissolve), and try again the next day. Sigh.)
2 Responses

  1. I’ve always wanted an ice cream maker – do you have any suggestions or are they all created equal?

  2. I have a Cuisinart ice cream maker. You freeze the bowl thingy and then don’t have to do ice and salt. It always seems to take me a couple of tries to get the ice cream to freeze, though, so I can’t recommend it without reservation. I also have an old-school one (the kind you use with ice and salt), but that always seems like too much work to me. :)

Leave a Reply

