Apple Cranberry Bread

Sarah made this recipe years ago and I fell in love with it instantly. I’ve made it so many times that I was forced to take a year off. Fortunately, the tradition resumes in 2009. Thanks, Sarah, for this delicious recipe. I almost always double my batch.

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 T. canola or vegetable oil
  • 1-1/2 cups flour
  • 1-1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 cups chopped, peeled tart apples
  • 1 cup fresh cranberries
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. In a mixing bowl, beat the eggs, sugar and oil.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda and salt; add to egg mixture just until combined. (Note: Batter will be very thick!)
  4. Stir in the apples, cranberries and walnuts. **
  5. Transfer to an 8-in. x 4-in. x 2 in. loaf pan coated with non-stick spray.
  6. Bake for 60-65 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center of the loaf comes out clean.
  7. Cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan to a wire rack to cool completely.

Yield: 1 loaf

** Sarah’s note: Fresh cranberries can be frozen if you don’t plan on using them shortly after purchasing. I do believe they’ll stay good in the freezer for up to 1 or 2 months. Also, this bread freezes very well. Place them in heavy-duty freezer bags, or double wrap in plastic, before freezing. Allow them to thaw completely in the bag (I don’t recommend attempting to thaw in the microwave) before serving.

2 Responses

  1. You’re so kind, Rebecca! Ooo, that reminds me…I have some frozen cranberries in my freezer at the moment that I have yet to use in the bread this season!! How did I make it through a Christmas season without this bread? God only knows. :)

  2. I have three beautiful mini-loaves now ready for neighbors. Lovely!

Leave a Reply

