Spiced Chili

chilipic

Good for a cold winter’s night. Taken from
The Taste of Home Cookbook, recipe by Julie Brendt of Antelope, California. Note that the title could more accurately read: Spicy Chili.

Ingredients

  • 1.5 lb ground beef
  • 1/2 C chopped onion
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 cans (16oz each) kidney beans, rinsed drained
  • 2 cans (15oz each) tomato sauce
  • 2 cans (14.5oz each) stewed tomatoes, cut up
  • 1 C water
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1/4 C chili powder
  • 1 T salt
  • 1 T brown sugar
  • 1 T dried basil
  • 1 T Italian seasoning
  • 1 T dried thyme
  • 1 T pepper
  • 1 t dried oregano
  • 1 t dried marjoram

Directions

  1. In a Dutch oven, cook the beef, onion and garlic over medium heat until meat is no longer pink; drain.
  2. Stir in beans, tomato sauce, tomatoes, water and seasonings.
  3. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, cover and simmer for 45 minutes. Discard bay leaves. If desired, serve in bread bowls and garnish with cheese and onions.

Yield: 12 servings (about 3 quarts)

**I thought the recipe called for FOUR cans of beans, so we have quite the bean fest going on at our house. (Oh dear.) I also added some tomato sauce–and almost two cups of water–and then used diced tomatoes as I’m not a fan of hunky mouthfuls of cooked tomato in my chili. No basil, no marjoram because we’re out. I balked at the full tablespoon of salt and hesitated with portions of both chili powder and pepper. I should’ve hesitated more because the chili turned out hotter than expected. Once amended with spoonfuls of sour cream, and a few tall glasses of milk on the side, the chili was enjoyed by my entire family.

3 Responses

  1. I have seen this recipe twice and neither way was actually the way I make it. Funny how that works. I cook it for about 2-3 hours and the tomatoes usually break up to small bits, I don’t use that much chili powder either and I use a lot more brown sugar. I don’t add salt or pepper, no need or italian seasoning. I now add fresh sage, lots of it, chopped and use ground turkey instead of beef, and my kids absolutely love it. I also sautee the garlic and onion in the turkey while it is browning and I don’t have to drain the meat. I don’t and never have drained the kidney beans, I pour it all in and I don’t add water. I like the chili thick and hearty and serve it with jiffy cornbread not a bread bowl. The next night I put it into a pan and top with cheese and cornbread mix and bake it till cornbread is done

  2. Julie, did the editors at Taste of Home alter your recipe for their cookbook? Thanks for including your version of it here! I’ve been wanting to cook with turkey more… chili seems like an easy way to substitute a leaner meat.

    • I think they may have, I didn’t know for a long time that it showed up in their cook book, I googled myself and found it one day.

Leave a Reply

