Inspiration

I haven’t done too much cooking this week, but here are some of the things I’ve been thinking about:

The Pioneer Woman has a great tutorial on how to make pumpkin puree and then an idea of how to use it. I got some organic canned pumpkin from Target for Simon. It seems to me to have a stronger taste than other canned pumpkin, but whatever . . . the kid loves it. I did buy a small pumpkin to try Ree’s puree, so we’ll see if homemade is worth the effort vs. the Farmer’s Market brand.

Diane at GoodyBlog has a list of smart snack choices. I’m still going to find a way to justify Peanut M&Ms, but, you know, these are good too.

Here is an interesting article in the New York Times about a restaurant in Omaha (more about politics than food, but still, I totally want to check out La Buvette now).

Every now and again, I get on a hard-boiled egg kick. This has the potential to help me make that happen more often.

Cake Wrecks is a fun site that features professional cakes that go “horribly, hilariously wrong.” On Sundays, though, Jen features cakes done right. This Super Mario Brothers cake had me wanting a Wii.

Are the farmers’ markets still going on? I can’t ever remember if they go up to October or through October. In any case, if you can’t get to the farmers’ market just gotta have some of our friend Elaine’s chocolates (and you do), she recently launched a website.

One Response

  1. I am still loving this post idea! I bought a big can of pumpkin in anticipation of all kinds of pumpkin goodies – so far I’ve only made bread, but I have my eye on that pumpkin cream cheese spread from your last post, and some pumpkin chocolate chip cookies. Yum!

    I am dubious that pureeing my own is worth the effort, so I’m looking forward to hearing the results of your experiment.

Leave a Reply

