Family Fudge

When I was a kid, my mom made the best fudge on the planet. Don’t ask me specifics about this recipe because I’ve rarely been able to make it as fabulous as the candy I remember. My fudge tends to burn a bit on the bottom, but do I throw it out? Goodness no. Even the burned stuff beats all the others out there. Thanks, Mom, for this delicious treat!

2 C sugar
1 small can condensed milk
1/2 stick margarine (or BUTTER)
9 quartered marshmallows (the big guys, I presume)

Bring these ingredients to a boil, stirring constantly. Put on low and boil for 4 minutes; remove from heat.

Beat in one 6 ounce package of semi-sweet chocolate drops until it begins to thicken. Add nuts. Pour into greased pan. If chilled in refrigerator, hardens quickly with good results.

One Response

  1. I was reminded to cook this recipe at a low temperature–and a heavy-bottomed pan would be good, too. Man, this fudge is delicious.

Leave a Reply

