Peppermint Kisses

Peppermint Kisses

Tanya Dunn made these treats one year for a Christmas party and I begged for the recipe. I like to underbake the cookies just a bit for an even chewier texture. Also, don’t forget the cooking spray!

2 egg whites
2/3 C sugar
1/4 t salt
1/2 t vanilla
2 T candy canes (or 2 candy canes), crushed
1/2 C chocolate chips

Beat egg whites until stiff peaks form. Gradually add sugar, beating well. Fold in salt, vanilla, candy & chocolate. On a lightly greased sheet, drop teaspoonfuls (or tablespoon-size, depending on your preference) of batter, then bake at 275 for 25-30 minutes.

14 Responses

  1. So now my rant last night appears unjustified. I composed this post under the “code” heading and I think my formatting will stick as long as I don’t alter the post.

    Please note that this recipe is worth doubling!

  2. Question: Are these supposed to be cookies, dropped by spoonfuls on the cookie sheet? Sorry, the directions are a little confusing, so I’m just wondering. Because, of course as you already know, i equally share your peppermint enthusiasm, so I’d love to bake these!!

  3. Yep, they’re cookies. Sorry for the confusion! I altered the directions, so hopefully it makes more sense now.

    Screwy formatting? I’m not touching it right now.

  4. Pictures, please!! :) Sorry, your audience is demanding tonight… (me, that is!)

  5. These are sooooooo good. I seriously horked them down, and then Jason caught me with my tongue in the bag trying to get the last delish crumbs. Kind of pathetic, actually.

  6. i’m not sure what i did wrong but mine turned out terrible- i threw away the batter.

  7. Hm. Maybe the you threw the yellows in as well? I hate it when a whole recipe goes sour. But these are worth trying again… If I make more I’ll bring some over to your place!

  8. i didn’t throw the yellow in- hmmm. the eggs weren’t super duper stiff like the recipe says- could that be it… and i’m jamie from iowa not jamie o from nebraska! :)

  9. Oops, sorry Jamie K! I suppose Iowa is kind of a long way to go for cookie-sharing.

  10. Jamie K, I made the cookies again tonight and noticed it took a l-o-n-g time to whip up the whites. And I was using a stand mixer. But now I’m worried about the final outcome because I forgot to SPRAY the pans–argh!

  11. Okay, now I’m obsessed with egg whites. Check out this link: http://www.joyofbaking.com/eggs.html

  12. how did they turn out?

  13. It was a total bust. I had to literally chip the cookies off the non-sprayed pan. I ended up refrigerating the remaining dough, then made another huge mess this morning. Argh! So. not. fun.

    This cookie dough is temperamental. But well worth it if they turn out well!

  14. Okay, sorry to add yet another comment to this post, but being the foodie, I simply couldn’t resist! Egg whites are quite tempermental and even getting the slightly smidgen of yolk in with them can keep them from forming peaks. To try and prevent getting any yolk in, it works well to very carefully tap around the shell of the egg with a table knife to crack it (thus helps prevent any jagged edges on the shell that might break the yolk).

    Also, I didn’t look at that joy of baking link you posted, Bec, but I’m assuming that they mention something about temperature when baking with egg whites. I believe it’s recommended (I think) that the eggs be very cold, and refridgerating the mixing bowl before you beat the whites, too. And I think there’s a certain type of mixing bowl that should NOT be used when beating egg whites…but can’t remember what that material is, glass maybe?

    Okay, I’ll quit my rambling. And your picture is beautiful. A good reminder for me that I really want to bake these ASAP!! I have all the ingredients at home currently, except for the peppermints, but after seeing that picture, I’m bound and determined to map out some time in my week to bake these!!

Leave a Reply

