Bacon-wrapped dates

I know they sound weird, but I promise you, they are yum-o! So far for us, they’ve been a crowd-pleaser.  And I’d never had dates before eating them like this.. and I don’t think I’ll eat them any other way..

1 Box of dates
1 package of bacon (may not use it all)
toothpicks

1.  Open dates, take bacon, and wrap one whole piece around a date.  Secure the bacon by shoving a toothpick through the date+bacon.
2. Place dates on cookie sheet or in shallow pan.  Bake at 350 for however long (not an exact science, maybe 10mins? I don’t know.. keep checking them and don’t blame me if they burn), making sure to turn them over once (the toothpicks work nicely for this).
3.  Let cool for five minutes, and serve away!

4 Responses

  1. These sound about as weird as those ham and cream cheese-wrapped pickles that Renae’s family loves so much.

  2. My grandma used to put a bit of mustard on top of peanut butter crackers. That, my friends, is much weirder than dates and bacon. Still, Jamie needs to prepare a plate for us to sample… and then we can all report back.

  3. We had bacon-wrapped dates at my company’s open house last week. They were deeeelicious.

  4. Yay! So someone else has had them.. But I will prepare a plate for you all to enjoy some Tuesday..

Leave a Reply

