Spiderweb Cookies

Spiderweb Cookies

I found these cookies on the pages of the October Good Housekeeping. I chose to use storebought sugar cookie dough, and plastic spider rings, and then I made the royal icing.

Wilton’s Royal Icing Recipe:

3 Tablespoons Wilton Meringue Powder
1 lb. (4 cups) confectioners’ sugar (about 1lb.)
6 Tablespoons warm water*

Beat all ingredients until icing forms peaks (7-10 minutes at low speed with a heavy-duty mixer, 10-12 minutes at high speed with a hand-held mixer). Recipe makes 3 cups. NOTE: Keep all utensils completely grease-free for proper icing consistency. * For stiffer icing, use 1 tablespoon less water.

I originally purchased black frosting for easy use. Turns out, I needed to thin both my white royal icing AND the black frosting in order to create the spiderweb look. I added thinned down royal icing (you need to add more water to the original recipe) to the black frosting and VOILA! the spiderweb cookies were a success. Or at least my three year old thinks so.

One Response

  1. Apparently I’m just oohing and aahing over everyone’s baked goods, but these look freakishly good.

Leave a Reply

