Halloween Cupcakes

Jason and I decorated these for a friend’s birthday last night.
monster cupcakes
We used:

Red Velvet cake mix (seemed only appropriate)
Swiss Meringue Buttercream* (and food coloring)

Pieces parts:
Big marshmallows
Little marshmallows
Mini chocolate chips
Licorice bridge mix (from the bulk section of Russ’s)
Red rope licorice
Gummy peach rings
Laffy Taffy
Gumdrops

The marshmallows and the gummy candy are sticky when you cut them apart.
It helps to poke a small hole before you stick the chocolate chips in (point down).

* I didn’t copy the recipe for the frosting here because (a) obviously, any kind of frosting will do, (b) the recipe was, in my opinion, more work than merited by the (admittedly yummy) end result, (c) the ingredients were kind of expensive (see also the next point), and most important, (d) I don’t know what kind of jumbo-ass cupcakes Martha makes, but the recipe says it makes enough to frost “about 28 cupcakes”; yeah, I frosted 24 liberally, and I’m not exaggerating when I say I have enough leftover for at least 50 more. (The good thing is that we’ll decorate some more for Jason’s work party on Wednesday, but still . . . anyone need some frosting?)

Via Goody Blog via Wisdom of the Moon.

3 Responses

  1. Those are freakishly cute, Renae! And Martha? Oh dear Martha. That woman makes everything more challenging than it should be.

  2. A few things:

    1) Love the word “jumbo-ass.” Will be using it in a sentence soon.
    2) How did you get the gray so GOOD? Gray food coloring eludes me much the same way that red does–can never get the desired result no matter how much coloring I use.
    3)Next party I throw, I’m having the Moreheads cater the monster cupcakes.

  3. Gross.

Leave a Reply

