One-Pan Whiskey-Flavored Pork Chops

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried rubbed sage
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 4 (6-ounce) bone-in center-cut pork chops, trimmed
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1 (8-ounce) package presliced mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup whiskey

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees.
  2. Combine sour cream, water, flour, salt, sage, and pepper in a small bowl.
  3. Sprinkle pork with 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/8 teaspoon pepper.
  4. Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.
  5. Add pork, sauté 5 minutes on each side or until golden.
  6. Remove pork from pan.
  7. Add onions and mushrooms to pan, and sauté for 3 minutes.
  8. Carefully add whiskey to pan, cook for 1 minute, or until liquid almost evaporates.
  9. Stir sour cream mixture into pan. Return pork to pan, spoon sauce over pork.
  10. Wrap handle of skillet with foil. Cover and bake at 300 for 1 hour.

I believe this recipe originally came from Cooking Light. I cooked the whiskey an extra two or three minutes just to make super sure that all the alcohol cooked out. :)

5 Responses

  1. Two questions… 1) How was the dish? Did you like it? and 2) Can you throw any skillet into the oven?

  2. 1. I did like it . . . quite a bit. The gravy part tasted like mushroom soup, except fancier. And the recipe overall was really easy, so the upgrade from mushroom soup to fancy was very much worth the not-very-much-extra effort, if that makes sense. (I have a bit extra if you are interested in a tasty taste. I saved it to put on top of a potato for lunch.)

    2. I was too chicken to actually put my skillet in the oven, so I actually transferred it to my dutch oven. I guess since that is the case, it would be the same if you simply moved it all to a casserole dish.

  3. But what do you do with the rest of the whiskey? I’ve never had whiskey, but I’m guessing it’s not something I’d probably sit around drinking at night while I watch “The Office.”

    I don’t think you can put all skillets into the oven, but I know you can put a lot of them. I think it depends largely on what the handle is made of. I looked up my model online, and found out it’s safe in ovens up to 450 degrees. So it might be worth looking up and seeing if you can find out. I don’t get why you’d put foil on the handle, though.

  4. Oops, that was me.

  5. And if you can put your skillet in the oven, then you can make Dutch babies, otherwise known as German pancakes. Yum.

    As to the leftover whiskey, I would probably just buy the hotel-sized liquor bottles. Karen gave me that idea when I recently used bourbon in a carrot cake.

Leave a Reply

