Quick Kale Sauté

on

I’m finally feeling functional after being quite sick the past few days, and I discovered a trick for feeding your family crazy healthy food: go to the store when you are feeling just enough better to be hungry. I stopped into Trader Joe’s this morning, and there was not enough green in the whole store for me. I could have gobbled down every last bite of produce in the place on the spot. I restrained myself from doing that, and came home and whipped myself up a heaping bowl of this delicious goodness. The inspiration is all from Joie, and this dish of green wonder can be modified a hundred ways, but this is how I made it today and it hit the spot. Also, it took less than 3 minutes, for real. (It would take more if you don’t buy prewashed kale.)

Ingredients:

  • Coconut oil (or other cooking oil) — a couple of teaspoons maybe, you know, a dollop
  • 1 garlic clove, thinly sliced or minced, as you prefer
  • 1 handful of raisins
  • 2 big handfuls of kale (I bought the prewashed and cut kind at Trader Joe’s)
  • 1/2 handful pecans (toasted would be lovely; I couldn’t be bothered)

Directions:

  1. Add the coconut oil and garlic to a skillet over medium heat.
  2. When the coconut oil is melted and before the garlic browns, add the raisins and kale. Cook until the kale is bright green and just starting to wilt.
  3. Add the pecans and toss everything around for 30 or 45 more seconds.

 

Leave a comment